Original-article audit
What this source can support
Reviewed 15 August 2026 · geometry completeness 72/100 · High for reported scale, layout and systems; low-to-medium for replacement quantities derived from area factors.
The linked published-scale model has a base replacement concept of about SEK 811.5m and correctly anchors on 5,000 m² / 53,820 ft² and 1,200 m. Its 32,500 m³ excavation, concrete/rebar quantities, four portal units and four mission packages are screening assumptions. The source reports three gun wells and two main portals plus an unknown number of smaller exits, so the current model's four mission packages and four portal units are not direct counts.
Supported useNamed two-level coastal-artillery rock battery beneath the 22-hectare island of Storholmen. The source directly reports 5,000 m² / 53,820 ft² underground area, 1,200 m of tunnels, three 15.2 cm gun wells, filtered protective ventilation, command and fire-control rooms, power, water, wastewater treatment, accommodation and workshops. It also gives alternative mid-1990s decommission estimates, but no original construction cost.
Geometry evidencearea_m2: value: 5000 m² / 53,820 ft² | scope: focal SL1 underground facility | note: Reported underground area. | tunnel_length_m: value: 1200 | unit: m | scope: focal SL1 tunnel network | note: Reported total tunnel length; cross-sections are absent. | portals: value: 2 | unit: main portals | scope: focal SL1 | note: The article refers to both main entrances; several smaller emergency exits also existed, but their count is not stated. | shafts: value: 3 | unit: gun shafts/wells | scope: focal SL1 | note: One for each reported 15.2 cm gun; additional shafts to command and measurement positions are reported without a total count. | inner_structure: value: two-level central facility connected by rock galleries | scope: focal SL1 | note: Includes command, operations, service, accommodation and utility spaces. | levels: value: 2 | unit: floors | scope: central facility | note: Directly reported. | other: value: 3 | unit: 15.2 cm guns | scope: focal battery | note: Mounted in massive gun wells.; value: 8 | unit: planned measurement stations | scope: battery-wide system | note: Two were initially radar-equipped.; value: 300 | unit: persons | scope: wartime exercise strength | note: Operational exercise strength, not design occupancy.
Historic-cost evidenceamount: SEK 2,000,000–2,300,000 | year: mid-1990s | basis: decommission estimate | scope: Option to seal entrances and leave much equipment; additional gun-demolition cost excluded.; amount: SEK 2,650,000–3,050,000 | year: 2020 | basis: publisher-stated equivalent | scope: Article's 2020 equivalent for the limited sealing option; conversion method is not stated.; amount: SEK 8,000,000 | year: mid-1990s | basis: decommission estimate | scope: Option to remove and dispose/recycle equipment and hazardous material before sealing.; amount: SEK 10,600,000 | year: 2020 | basis: publisher-stated equivalent | scope: Article's 2020 equivalent for the full-removal option; not construction cost.
Systems describedSLC, SPL, SBC, KPL, radar/optical measurement and later STRIKA 85 command and fire-control communications; Shock-wave valves, filters, dehumidifier, cooling compressor and fans for protective ventilation; Subsea grid cable and removed emergency generators; Deep-bore well, pumped wastewater and three-chamber septic treatment; Kitchen, dining room, medical room, accommodation and workshops; Steel-faced concrete-filled shock doors and multiple breakout-equipped emergency exits
Primary cost drivers5,000 m² / 53,820 ft² underground fit-out; 1,200 m of galleries and their unknown cross-sections; Three gun wells and associated shafts; Two main portals plus multiple emergency exits; Filtered ventilation, power, water and wastewater systems; Island logistics and marine access
Unit / programme scopeOne named battery and its island-wide emplacement system. The article also provides general coastal-artillery history, which should not be priced as additional SL1 scope.
Revision directionIndeterminate
Missing inputsTunnel and cavern cross-sections; Excavated volume and rock-cover depth; Concrete and reinforcement quantities; Exact emergency-exit and shaft counts; Measured gun-well geometry; Geotechnical and hydrogeological data; Current ownership, access and hazardous-material condition
Site / data issuesNo original construction cost is reported; all monetary evidence in the article concerns decommission alternatives.; The dossier headline historic cost is blank, which is defensible for construction comparison but hides useful lifecycle cost evidence unless separately classified.; The model assumes four mission packages although the source reports three gun wells.; The model treats four portal units as a class proxy; the source directly supports two main entrances and only an unspecified number of minor exits.; Water, rust, rock-safety and legacy-material hazards make photographed condition unsuitable as a clean replacement baseline.